Ethics Bowl Results

16 March 2018, 10:43 am Written by 
Published in Latest News

St. Andrews University students, Dean of Students Dr. Tim Verhey and Assistant Professor of Religious Studies Tanner Capps competed in February at the North Carolina Independent Colleges and Universities annual Ethics Bowl in Raleigh. Although not the eventual winner (Salem College/Winston-Salem), St. Andrews students distinguished themselves in a number of rounds among 24 college teams.

St. Andrews competed against schools including High Point, Wake Forest, Methodist University, Campbell and Queens University of Charlotte.

The goal of the NCICU Ethics Bowl is to emphasize applied ethics as a hallmark of the student experience at North Carolina’s 36 independent colleges and universities which includes St. Andrews.

The NCICU ethics Bowl is designed to provide an academic experience that increases awareness and discourse in applying ethics in leadership, decision-making, interpersonal relations and carious issues in today’s society. Sponsors included Duke Energy and Wells Fargo. Over 70 volunteer judges and moderators participated representing corporations, media, business and legal firms.

Each college team competed in four rounds with the final competition focusing on cyber communities and how to exercise personal responsibility to ensure ethical standards and practices in social media.

“As a liberal arts institution, St. Andrews is committed to the education of the whole person. We prepare students not only to become economically successful, but also to become good people and engaged leaders in society. The NCICU Ethics Bowl was a great opportunity for our students to grow as professionals, people, and leaders. Moreover, I am proud to say that their performance showed that they are well on their way,” Dr. Verhey said.

St. Andrews students competing were Timothy Aiken (GA), Edwardo Andrade (NC), Cheyenne Ball (NC), Nina Havelka (NC), Kerri Anne Paschal (NC) and Nathan Rivas-Blackwell (CA)





(photo l-r)

 Edwardo Andrade, Nina Havelka, Timothy Aiken, Cheyenne Ball, Kerri Anne Paschal, Dr. Tim Verhey. Not pictured Nathan Rivas-Blackwell.